I don’t know how many of you are watching the USA original series “Complications,” but I have to be honest and say that it is a very suspenseful show. The writers do a great job of putting you on the edge of your seat as you watch each weekly episode. But there are times, that the writers create situations that are completely laughable and unbelievable. Last night I watched the most recent episode.

Doctor John Ellis played by Jason O’Mara is questioned by Detective Holden played by Brent Sexton. What made this episode so laughable, was the fact that a noted surgeon who is married to an attorney would agree to go with the detective to the police station to be questioned. I always find it funny what the police say, “If you need an attorney than maybe I should think of you as a suspect.” I don’t think anyone in their right mind would think that a surgeon married to an attorney would ever be questioned without an attorney present.

When the police question someone, they have one idea on their mind. They want to make you a suspect. They want to intimidate you. When I realized what was happening, I started laughing at first and then I started throwing socks at the TV. The fact that a writer would think that his/her viewers are that ignorant of what should be going on makes the whole thing laughable. Never ever go to a police station to talk to the police without an attorney sitting next to you to protect your civil rights. The police do not care about your civil rights when they question you.

I see this same kind of writing in other series that I watch on TV. Sometimes I think the writers are indicating that their viewers are ignorant of the law. It is really a laughing matter.