It’s Saturday, the roads are covered in ice, there’s 2″ of snow on the ground. and I can’t get outside. I haven’t completed my daily walk in several days. The temperature will finally get above freeze for the first time in 4 days, this afternoon.

I know I shouldn’t complain, we could be another Boston, but I thought I lived in the south so I didn’t have to deal with this kind of weather. When I was growing up I lived all over the US. We spent more time in South Dakota than any where else, during my first 15 years. I thought I loved the cold. I wanted to move to Alaska. Not any more. I can’t stand the cold.

I feel for all those big rigs on the road that can’t go anywhere. Watching the news, they show pictures of rig after rig stuck on over passes, or jack knifed rigs that are blocking traffic. And the cars on the road, I am amazed at the idiots that can’t stay home. I think there is something in our genes, that drives some of us to get on the roads when there like they are now, and try and prove to Mother Nature we can beat her. Yeah, right, no one beats Mother Nature.

I was just watching a couple walk down the sidewalk outside the condo. The man stepped on a slick spot, his feet went one way and his body the other. He’s okay, I checked, but he will be sore. I thought about asking why they got outside. Someone else3 daring Mother4 Nature.

Enough for my complaining, just deal with it. At least I have a fire going, with plenty of wood to burn. I will stay inside, cook pancakes and write some more.