Long Exposure

The answer to that question is very simple, I have.

I grew up in a family of military brats. For the first fourteen years of my life, we moved every 2 1/2 years. Every time I started to make some friends, we moved. I cannot remember a single person that I became friends with for the first eighteen years of my life. I realize that is a sorry state of affairs. However, when you move every 2 1/2 years you learn to distance yourself from the people that you become friends.

The problem with that is the fact that I have carried it forward for next forty-nine years of my life. For thirty years, I worked in the same industry. I traveled all over the United States. I met a lot of good people. However, how many of them can I call friends, today, none.

Oh, there’s a few that I have the email addresses for and phone numbers for, but I haven’t talked to them in years. That being said. I have the same cell Phone Number that I have had since nineteen ninety-five, almost 20 years. Those very same people never contact me. They know that I have the same cell Phone Number

My wife tells me that I don’t know how to be friends with anyone. I come from a family of six children, three girls, three boys. How often do we talk, maybe once or twice a year. We all live in different parts of the country. Therefore, I guess you could say it was bred into us to keep our distance, not only from our brothers and sisters but friends as well.

There have been several times in my past that I have told myself that I was going to change the way I dealt with my brothers and sisters. However, they are just like me, and I have tried to contact them and develop a relationship, but it fails. It is a sorry state of affairs when you have to admit that you will probably not see your brothers and sisters until the day one of them goes in the ground.

Therefore, I guess that’s the way it will be for the rest of my life. I come from a family that has the genetics to live a long time. Our grandfather lived to be a hundred and four. Our mother was ninety-two when she died and probably could’ve lived a lot longer, but I am confident in saying that I think she just gave up on life. She was tired of being by herself and never seen any of her children.

Like I said, it’s a sorry state of affairs.