Sleepy Time

I’m always amazed at the people who tell me they can’t go to sleep if they go to bed too early in the evening. Early in the evening, to these people, is between 9 and midnight, most nights. Then they wonder why they have a hard time staying awake the next day.

I’m an early to bed, early to rise kind person. I am usually in bed and fast asleep between 9 and 9:30 PM every evening. Now, that being said, I am usually up by a quarter of 6 in the morning. I get my eight hours of sleep every night. There is nothing, going on that late in the evening that I have to stay up. My sleep is important to me.

There is usually a reason someone has a hard time going to sleep after 9 o’clock at night and before midnight. Each person has to analyze what it is that’s keeping him or her awake. A friend of mine believes that he has to consume 2 to 3 glasses of wine every night,or he just can’t go to sleep. I contend it’s the wine that’s keeping him awake.

Now I don’t consume alcohol, at all. Not even a single glass now and then while at dinner with my wife or friends. There could be something to the wine helping someone sleep, but I don’t believe it. I’ve seen too many stories on TV or read too many articles on the Internet about the use of alcohol and sleep.

I have often wondered if there has ever been a study done to determine how long people live based upon the time of night they go to sleep and how many hours they sleep. I know of studies about what affect not getting a proper night’s sleep can do to the body, but I don’t think there has ever been a test done that tracks when people go to sleep and how long they sleep to see what effect it has on the lifespan of that person.

Therefore, for those of you who have a tough time going to sleep before 11 or 12 o’clock at night. I can only say you don’t know what you’re missing.