Writing 101, Day Thirteen: Serial Killer II

Earlier in the course, you wrote about losing something. Today, write about finding something. For your twist, view day four’s post and today’s post as installments in a series.

Instant Celebrity

If you could be a famous person for a day, who would you be? Why?

Before I begin today’s post, I must tell you that I have always been a believer of the fact that things just happen.  I don’t hold to the position that God makes everything happen to us for a reason.

For years, I have fought my weight.  I gained weight, lost weight, gain the weight back and tried everything I could keep the weight off.  I had trainers, dietitians; talk to doctors and nothing ever seemed to work.  At one point, I considered surgery.  However, after considering all the options and talking to people who had the surgery, and watching what happened to them as well as, so-called, celebrities on television.  I decided not to do the surgery but to lose my weight in a more natural way.  However, nothing worked.

I had reached a weight of 365 pounds.  My left shoulder needed surgery and both of my knees. Then the bad news hit me when my doctor diagnosed me with diabetes.

The first thing that I did was go home and removes everything from my home that I could not eat as a diabetic.  When my wife and I finished, the cupboard and the refrigerator where bear.  We started a different diet plan that met all the requirements of a diabetic, but I went even further.  I said if I’m going to do this then I am going to learn to live my one life without sugar.

One year later, I had lost 100 pounds.  I went to see a doctor about having surgery on my shoulder. Ninety days later, I had use of my left shoulder.  Hundred and twenty days later, both of my knees had been replaced.  Less than two months after having knee surgery, I was up walking more than a mile a day.

Two years after the surgery, my doctor informed me that I was no longer diabetic. I had cured myself by working hard to lose weight and control by diet.

There are those that would say that God realized it was an impossible task for me to lose weight without some assistance.  Therefore diabetes, which forced me to change my diet and lose weight.

I, you are the celebrities of this world.  I cannot think of a single celebrity that I would like to be, even for a day.  I want to be me.  I want to be what the good Lord put on this earth.  We are the celebrities. Do not chase after a dream that will never happen. Chase after your dream and make it happen.