Right to Brag

Tell us about something you (or a person close to you) have done recently (or not so recently) that has made you really, unabashedly proud.

I don’t know if they still have it, but years ago, when I lived in Tucson Arizona they had a bike race called, the EL Tour D Tucson.  The bike race was 109 miles long.  At the time, I was an avid bike rider.  I spent at least a couple of hours several days during the week riding my bike, and on the weekends I spent 4 sometimes 5 hours each day riding my bike.

One year I decided that I was going to sign up, and ride in the EL Tour D Tucson bike race.  For 6 months prior to the race, I trained every day.  I had just lost 125 pounds, felt great about myself, and look forward to the day I would ride in this race

I had no misconceptions about the race.  I knew that I would not win this race.  My goal was to finish the race and be able to say that I had participated in a bike race and completed the race.

On the day of the race, I was ready.  I lined up in the back of the pack where all the newbies started the race.  When the time came to start, off I went.  My wife and friends went to each of the watering and food stations and watched as I rode.  I would stop and pick up new water, food and then spend a little time talking to my wife and friends, and then I was off.

It took me just under 8 hours to finish 109 miles.  I was beat!  I never dreamed how hard it would be to do 109 miles in one day.  However, I finished the race.  To this day, I have all the awards that I won by finishing the race framed and on the wall.  People that I have met over the years and have dropped by the house have asked how I won the awards.  I have been proud to say that I had written, completed,109 mile bike race.

As a bike rider, I don’t think you understand the thrill of bike riding until you have competed in a bike race of that length against hundreds of other bike riders. Many who are out for the thrill of saying they rode in the race.

I wasn’t first, nor in the top 100, but I was not last.