I know we have all heard about Mayor Bloomberg and his battle against the giant sodas in the city of New York. I for one am against the Nanny gate idea, but I have to agree that people do not have to have such a large sugar drink.

I have to tell a story about myself, and why I support such a move by the Mayor.

All my life I have been over weight. For the last 30 years I have weighed over 300 lbs. During the last 5 years, I have read as much information as I could find on the internet about how sugary or diet drinks effect the body and push our bodies to desire more sugar.

Everything I read says that the more sugary and diet drinks we consume, the more sugar our bodies desire.

The first of the year I went to see my doctor, and he ran a blood test. My glucose level was well over 310. That day I decided to change my eating habits. I stopped all diet drinks, drank coffee in the morning, and water the balance of the day. I stopped all bread, chips, crackers, red meat, cookies, white rice, potatoes, and starchy foods of any kind. Eat more fresh vegetable, fish, chicken, pork.

The next doctor’s visit my blood sugar was 91. My cholesterol dropped from 187 to 137 and my weight had already dropped 10 lbs. The doctor was surprised at the changes.

This happened over a 90-day period and I lost the desire to eat any sugary products. Within 2 weeks of discontinuing the sugary diet drinks, I no longer had the desire of eating any sweet foods.

It’s now been 6 months and I do not eat sweets or drink sweet drinks of any kind, even diet drinks. I do not reach for them or want them. My test worked and I was right. It’s all in the body and the more sweet drinks, even diet that we consume the more sweets our body wants.

Test and see what happens. Parents that allow their children to consume even diet drinks are pushing their children toward the consumption of sugar. Test it and see what happens. Only allow them to drink water for several weeks and see if the desire to consume sweets begins to drop off.

If you drink diet drinks, test it on yourself first and see what happens.

Think I’m nuts, tell me.