“WOW,” four posts in one week that is a record for me, I had to follow up a post I did earlier in the week.

Facebook has posted to their site a statement concerning the issue of employers requesting that potential new hires hand over their user name and password. Facebook had something to tell the employers. “Get lost.”

I quote …

“If you are a Facebook user, you should never have to share your password, let anyone access your account or do anything that might jeopardize the security of your account or violate the privacy of your friends,” wrote Erin Egan, Facebook’s chief privacy officer. “We have worked really hard at Facebook to give you the tools to control who sees your information.”

Read more: http://www.politico.com/news/stories/0312/74395.html#ixzz1px1urVc6

This should clear up a lot of miss information for a lot of people covering the issue that I brought up in my earlier post. I am glad that Facebook stepped up to the plate, and took the position that they did.

They also went so far as to state …

“Peeking at people’s Facebook pages might cause employers problems, such as how to handle situations that may arise if they learn certain types of information. What if the employer learns a person’s true age and doesn’t hire that person? What about if the employer notices what may be a commission of a crime?”

Read more: http://www.politico.com/news/stories/0312/74395.html#ixzz1px2ykw9L

I think that about covers the full issue. If someone asked for your information tell them no and dare them to refuse you a job, or all your child access to that school.

What do you think? I received some push back on this earlier article. But as you can see even Facebook was concerned.