I didn’t decide to start writing until the young age of 63. I was searching for something to take up my spare time, and decided to start writing since I had wanted to do for a long time.

Since it had been a long time since I’d been in school, and I had completed any kind of serious writing, I decided to start reading books.

I did a search on Barnes & Noble and came up with the name of several recommended books. They were, “How to Write a Damn Good Thriller,” by James Fry, and “How to Write a Damn Good Mystery,” by the same James Frey.

I thought I was ready to go, and I jumped right into writing my first three novels. Before I knew, I had three completed novels, and had submitted the first one to a young lady to start editing the grammar. That didn’t go so well and i spent some time cleaning the book up. Then I started submitting to agents hoping to land one right away. Yea, that dream ended when I went through the first 100, and they all said NO and I still an at no. But I’m getting better, and I see the error of my ways.

But I had not stopped reading, and started looking for other blogs, and other areas of information because I knew I needed to continue to learn the business and trade if I ever wanted to be successful.

The thing I have in my life are friends, and they always send me information and blogs I should check out. One of them sent me Kristen Lambs Blog. I registered to receive her daily blogs, and I started reading them every day, several times a day to understand what she was saying. I also started reading books that she recommended, or listed as preferred reading. No, before you ask, I have not read your two books. Shame on me.

But I have read four of the books that she has recommended. And I am currently reading the fourth book. The first of the four books that I read was, “Write It Forward, From Writer to Successful Arthur” by Bob Mayer. The second book I read was “Hooked” by Les Edgerton and the third “Story Engineering, Six Core Competencies of Successful Writing” by Larry Brooks.

The first three books, recommended that you start the story process by using an outline, either building the outline on paper, or using some note card. The authors recommend this method because they feel you will have better control of your story and characters and can make changes as your story grows.

Now understand this is a short version of what each of those three books went into detailing and explaining how you should build your outline. I am not going into detail here to explain the process because that’s not what I’m doing here.

The fourth book “The Successful Novelist: a lifetime of lessons about writing And Publishing,” by David Morrell. He throws everything the first three books tells us to do out the window.

He tells us when we have an idea for a story to sit down at the computer and just start writing. Forget the outline, forget the note cards, start writing, and don’t stop until you finish your book. Start asking WHY, WHY, WHY and build your store. Complete that manuscript and let your mind go wherever it may.

You have to understand something that this man is my hero. David Morrow wrote the book, “First Blood” and any man that’s a man loves the movie “First Blood” about Rambo. If you don’t like Rambo, you’re not a man. So if, David Morrell tells you to throw the idea of an outline out the window, then he has to know what he’s talking about.

This is the way I write. I have tried the outlines. I have written 30 page outlines and then sat down and started writing my book, only to discovered after nearly 150 pages that I am so far off of that outline that it was a complete waste of my time. I’m not sure who’s right or who’s wrong. But I am sure of one thing, that if the man that wrote Rambo, or “First Blood” says that he writes without an outline, then I would have to say that he must know something about what he’s talking about.

I would love to hear what the rest of the class has to say on this subject, because I think about this all the time, especially after reading four books concerning this subject.