This weekend, while watching the football games, a friend of mine asked me if I thought the Dow would reach 14,000 this year. After much discussion between several of us about how different areas of the world may or may not affect what is going on currently in the market, I blurted out, “Well, it also depends on who wins the video game.” Then I sang, “The Devil goes down to Wall Street, he was searching for a soul to take.”

There were six of us setting in the room, and they all turned and looked at me with the usual smile on their faces, and my friend Becky said, “Here goes the author. What are you suggesting?”

I said, “It depends on whether God or the Devil wins the video game this year. We aren’t the only people who have fun with video games and God and the Devil play games just as we do, only the stakes are higher. They want their games to be a lot more entertaining than just the normal video games where no one dies.”

They all started to laugh. “Okay, and just what games do they play?” One friend who is always serious when he drops by said. “War games, “Call of Duty: Modern Warfare, or how about Grand Theft Auto.”

“I don’t think so. I think those two are into more serious stuff than the games your kids play.”

“Undoubtedly you haven’t seen what kids play today in video games. They kill everything that walks talks and crawls on the screen. My son asked if he could put his sister in the game the other day.”

“I think God and the Devil play with real angles.” I said.

“Nonsense! You have to be kidding me. Killing angles, they wouldn’t play that game.”

“You think not. There not angles. There were stock brokers, bankers, financially gurus from Wall Street firms that screwed the pouch, and got away with it, the devils always look-n for the next soul to take. The game would have to be interesting. What better way, than to kill off angles. God’s job would be to protect them, and the devils job would be to kill them. Depending on who wins, so goes the stock market. If the Devil wins the stock market goes up. If God wins, the market goes down. Sounds to me like a lot of angles are dying for the sake of the rich.”

“That’s a cold way to look at the market.”

“Think about it. How does the verse go … Again I say to you, it is easier for a camel (poor man) to go through the eye of a needle, than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God.”