Every morning at 5AM our two cats get me out of bed to join them as they start their new day. It’s not 4:45am or 5:15am, it’s 5:00am. They begin their morning with a romp across the bed, over each of us, stopping next to me, starring into my face, watching as my eye’s slowly open to see them starring at me, waiting for me to realize they are ready to get up, and start the new day.

Ninja, the black cat, and youngest of the two, is the first to start the morning run. He is first up, and ready to get going. Carlos, the older of the two, and our Main-Coon, and much more mature cat would rather lay in the bed, and sleep until my wife gets out of bed around 7am, but Ninja will have none of that in the mornings.

Ninja, has also developed a morning routine that matches mine. The first thing I do when I get out of bed is hit the bathroom; well the first thing Ninja does once I get out of bed, is hit the litter box. I told my wife this is the funniest site watching this cat running in front of me towards the bathroom, and then heading to the litter box as I break off, and headed into the bathroom. I can hear Ninja kicking the litter around in the box as I am exiting the bathroom.

While all this is going on, Carlos is sitting at the top of the stairs, waiting for Ninja to complete his bathroom run, and they both run downstairs and beat me to the kitchen. They are both sitting there waiting for their breakfast. Carlos starring at me when I turn the corner with his, “What took you so long?” look.

Our morning has begun. The next three hours they spend watching the morning financial shows, and talk shows on TV with me, and wondering just what I get from the trash talk that comes from the mess discussed on the TV. After the TV is turned off, Carlos is back up stairs, on the bed, and he takes his morning nap until after 1PM. Ninja, he’s like a tornado, running at full speed around the house until he runs out of wind around 9am, and then he hits the bed, and joins Carols until 1pm.

I need their life.